Have you been charged with robbery? Don’t wait. Call now.
Robbery is more serious than other types of property crimes because it is considered a crime against people. A robbery conviction is something that you do not want to have on your criminal record, as it could affect you for the rest of your life.
For more than 25 years, attorney Norman Mattar has defended people accused of theft crimes, such as robbery, in Buffalo and Western New York. He offers a free initial consultation to discuss your case.
What is the difference between robbery, theft, and petit larceny?
Each type of robbery or theft is categorized in a single section of the New York Penal Law. The New York state has consolidated all theft statutes, and they will quickly know where every charge falls whenever a person accesses or uses services unlawfully.
Robbery involves the taking of another person’s property by force. The most common objects taken are cell phones, iPads and other electronic devices. However, you can be charged with robbery even if you take an item of nominal value.
Unlike petty larceny, which is a misdemeanor, robbery is charged as a felony in New York regardless of the value of the item taken. Petit larceny is the least severe type of theft among all the others in New York, but that does not imply its charges are insignificant. If you committed the crime, the potential costs are one year in jail, a $1,000 crime fine, or both. You can, therefore, not ignore the offence and assume you can handle it yourself.
What are the penalties for robbery?
The penalties for robbery can be very severe, especially if you use a weapon or cause severe injury.
In New York, there are three degrees of robbery, including:
A person is guilty of robbery in the third degree when he forcibly steals property. It is a Class D non-violent felony and considered the least serious form of robbery in New York. The minimum penalty is two to three years in prison, or up to seven years in prison upon conviction.
A person is guilty of robbery in the second degree if they were aided by another person present; caused someone not involved in the robbery to be injured; and carried a deadly weapon such as a firearm. This is a Class C violent felony. It has a minimum sentence of three and a half years and a maximum of 15 years.
A robbery in the first degree causes serious physical injury to any person who is not a participant in the crime; is armed with a deadly weapon; uses or threatens the immediate use of a dangerous instrument; or carried a deadly weapon such as a firearm. It is a Class B violent felony crime. The minimum sentence for a first-time offender with no prior criminal history is five years in state prison, while the maximum robbery charge is 25 years in prison.
What are some defenses for a robbery charge?
There is always something that an experienced defense lawyer can do to minimize the potential consequences that you face. We will carefully evaluate your case to determine if the police have enough evidence to prove you are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. If the state only has the word of one person against another, this can be difficult to do.
In some cases, we can negotiate a reduction of charges from robbery to theft or larceny, which does not involve force. You should never plead guilty to robbery charges without first discussing your case with a lawyer.
If you have been charged with robbery, call now to set up a consultation.
To defend Robbery charges in New York, call 716-633-4300 to discuss your case with Defense Lawyer Norman Mattar.