Have you been charged with assault? Call now. We can help.
If you’re facing serious assault charges, what’s your next move? Depending on the specific altercation, you may be charged with a misdemeanor or felony. Maybe it’s not apparent, but the simplest of assault charges can be turned into assault with a dangerous weapon or felonious assault based on a few minor factors.
The difference between misdemeanor and felony charges can often hinge on the skill of the defense attorney that you’ve hired. If you face serious assault accusations, the first thing you need to do is track down a criminal defense lawyer that will elicit the finest courtroom results. That’s where we step in. At the Law Offices of Norman Mattar, our certified attorneys are prepared for action.
What are some examples of assault?
Assault charges can stem from a number of different circumstances. In many cases, our clients will face ramifications after becoming involved in the following scenarios:
- Road rage incidents
- Bar fights
- A dispute with a neighbor
- Acts of domestic violence
- A standard misunderstanding that develops into a physical altercation
Types of assault charges
Assault is determined as a felony or a misdemeanor depending on the gravity of an injury, how a person was injured, who the victim was (such as a police or peace officer), and other factors. The New York Penal Law under Article 120 distinguishes between three different levels of assault, including first degree, second degree, and third degree.
Aggravated assault is the most serious assault charge in New York State. This occurs when a person acts with reckless disregard and causes serious injury to another person. It is a first degree, Class B felony assault charge. This could cost someone three to 25 years in prison. If you have an aggravated assault charge on a police or peace officer, a Class B felony, you could be looking at 10 to 30 years and up to a $5,000 fine.
A person is guilty of assault in the second degree when they intend to cause serious injury to another person with a deadly weapon or instrument. This is a Class D felony. A person could face up to three to seven years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
Third degree assault is the lowest tier of assault charges. This occurs when someone inflicts physical injury on another person and is considered a Class A misdemeanor. This could mean up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
Defenses for assault charges
There are several defenses you may use against an assault charge. A few defenses to assault include lack of injury and intent. Consent could be a defense if you are charged with an assault in the second degree that involved a deadline weapon or a third assault that had a purpose of intentional injury. Additionally, justification could be a defense if a person was acting in self defense or the defense of other people in an altercation.
No matter the circumstances that brought assault charges against you, it’s always in your best interests to track down a criminal defense lawyer who has a proven track record. After all, your freedom could be at stake. Keeping this in mind, the Law Offices of Norman Mattar has got you covered every step of the way.
Contact a Buffalo Assault Attorney
If you’d like to schedule a consultation with one of our knowledgeable defense attorneys, be sure to contact our team. We’ve handled an array of assault cases in the past, helping our clients to receive the most favorable outcomes.