Have you been charged with prostitution? Don’t wait. Call now.
The personal consequences of a prostitution conviction can far exceed the legal consequences. While you are unlikely to serve jail time for a first prostitution offense that does not involve sex with a minor, your reputation and family life can suffer greatly.
For more than 25 years, prostitution defense attorney Norman Mattar has defended people accused of sex crimes such as prostitution in Buffalo and Western New York. He offers free consultations to discuss your case. We represent Johns, escorts, escort agencies and others who are accused of prostitution.
What is the legal definition of prostitution?
A person is guilty of prostitution when they engage or offer to engage in sexual conduct with another person for money. In New York State, prostitution is a Class B misdemeanor, which could mean up to three months in jail and up to a $500 fine.
Patronizing a prostitute
A person patronizes a person for prostitution when they pay a fee with the understanding that it is for sexual conduct. In New York, you can be charged with patronizing prostitution if you pay for sex, even if the sexual act did not take place. You can also be charged with prostitution if you solicit another person to engage in sex for a fee.
Here is a breakdown of some of the different charges:
- Patronizing a person for prostitution in the third degree: A person is guilty when they patronize a person for prostitution. It’s a Class A misdemeanor, a crime that gives you a criminal record for the rest of your life.
- Patronizing a person for prostitution in the second degree: A person is guilty when they are at least 18 years old and patronize another person who is 15 years old or younger for prostitution. It’s a Class E felony.
- Patronizing a person for prostitution in the first degree: A person is guilty when they patronize a person who is younger than 11 years old for prostitution, or if they are 18 years old and patronize a person for prostitution that is younger than 13 years old. It is a Class D felony.
If convicted of any of the offenses regarding patronizing a person for prostitution, the state requires you to register as a sex offender.
Prostitution in a school zone
A person is guilty of prostitution in a school zone when they are at least 19 years old and commit prostitution near a school, during school hours, or within the direct view of children attending a school. It is a Class A misdemeanor and could mean up to one year of jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Promoting prostitution in a school zone is also illegal and is a Class E Felony in New York.
Promoting prostitution is a felony in New York. Commonly known as pimping or pandering, the state defines it into two categories: advanced prostitution and profit from prostitution. A person is guilty of “advance prostitution” if they help another person with prostitution, including finding and soliciting patrons, providing a place for prostitution, or assisting in the operation of a house of prostitution.
Laws against promoting prostitution are aimed at third parties who facilitate or make money from the prostitution of others.
Can I keep a prostitution conviction out of the papers?
If you have been charged with prostitution, you may be embarrassed and/or anxious to make the charges go away as quickly as possible. Some people even plead guilty to prostitution charges just to “get it over with.” Unfortunately, pleading guilty will result in a permanent criminal record.
Our goal is to resolve the charges as quietly as possible, while avoiding the stigma of a criminal conviction. You should never discuss the charges with police or with anyone other than your attorney.
If you’ve been charged with prostitution, call now for help.
To defend Prostitution charges in New York, call 716-633-4300 to discuss your case with Prostitution Defense Lawyer Norman Mattar.