Call now if you’ve been charged with a hit and run
The moments following an automobile accident can be confusing.
If you’ve been charged with a hit-and-run in New York State, take the proper steps to avoid serious consequences. The first thing you need to do is protect yourself and your family. A hit-and-run attorney such as Norman Mattar can guide you through the process with a free consultation.
There are more than 300,000 traffic crashes in New York state every year, and the legal outcome of any particular accident can be unpredictable. You should be informed about your rights and understand your obligations, and that means speaking to an experienced defense lawyer as soon as possible.
Attorney Norman Mattar was an Assistant District Attorney for more than 25 years. Our team offers free consultations to discuss your case and address your concerns. Norman Mattar has extensive experience defending people accused of hit and run accidents, as well as other serious offenses such as DWI accidents, crimes involving leaving the scene of the accident, and other vehicle-related crimes in the Buffalo and Western New York area.
What are your rights when charged with a hit and run?
We can explain your rights and ensure that you understand your case. If you are accused of hit and run, you have a right to remain silent. You may feel obligated to explain the circumstances of your hit and run accident to the police, but it might not be wise to do so until you understand your legal situation. Any questions you answer could provide police officers with evidence needed to charge you with a crime. Your hit and run attorney is the only person with whom you should discuss your case.
Do I Need a Hit and Run Lawyer?
There are laws in NY State that must be followed if a motor vehicle accident has occurred and there was:
- A person who was injured or killed
- There was damage to the property of one of the individuals involved in the accident (including yourself) where the damage exceeds $1,000
Under these circumstances, all drivers involved in the accident must file their own accident report within 10 days from the date the incident occurred. The penalties for not filing the report are serious. The Department of Motor Vehicles may suspend your driver’s license until your report is received. If the accident caused serious personal injury to another person, you could be charged with a Felony. For someone already on probation, this could lead to jail time.
It’s important for you to immediately contact a hit and run lawyer and discuss what needs to be done to protect yourself from fines and penalties. An experienced hit and run lawyer like Norman Mattar can answer your questions and provide you with sound legal advice.
Depending on the severity of property damage or whether or not anyone involved suffered serious injuries, a hit and run accident may be charged as a traffic offense, a misdemeanor, or a felony. It is possible to negotiate a reduction in charges if you’ve been charged with a hit and run. You might also have questions about recently changed New York State bail laws. Our team can help clear up confusion and make sure you understand what lies ahead.
Contact a Buffalo Hit and Run Lawyer Norman Mattar
We can help. Schedule a free consultation with us as soon as possible. For more information about hit and run accidents that have occurred in the State of New York, call 716-633-4300 and discuss your case with Buffalo criminal defense lawyer Norman Mattar.